Personal Loans for Green Card Holders and New Immigrants: What Lenders Actually Ask For
A green card gets you through the eligibility screen at several large online lenders. What stops many new arrivals is not the card. It is a short or empty U.S. credit file, and sometimes income that is hard to show in dollars.
This guide covers what lenders may ask, what five lenders publish about permanent residents and visa holders, the documents to gather and how to start a credit file. We checked each lender page on October 19, 2026. Policies change, so confirm before you apply.
Key takeaways
- Regulation B lets a lender consider "immigration status or status as a permanent resident of the United States."
- SoFi, Upgrade and Best Egg list permanent residents as eligible on their own pages. SoFi and Upgrade also name some visa holders. Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub) says a "U.S. citizen or current resident" can apply.
- Best Egg and Upstart require a Social Security number. If you only have an ITIN, the options are different.
- Experian says a good score from your home country usually won't carry over. A secured card or credit-builder loan can start a U.S. file.
- A lender that wants a fee before it releases your loan is a warning sign, per the FTC.
This guide is part of our personal loans by credit score and borrower situation hub.
Can a lender ask about your immigration status?
Yes. Regulation B, the federal rule under the Equal Credit Opportunity Act, says a creditor "may consider the applicant's immigration status or status as a permanent resident of the United States, and any additional information that may be necessary to ascertain the creditor's rights and remedies regarding repayment."
The official commentary explains why. Immigration status and "ties to the community (such as employment and continued residence in the area) could have a bearing on a creditor's ability to obtain repayment." It gives an example: a lender may differentiate "between a noncitizen who is a long-time resident with permanent resident status and a noncitizen who is temporarily in this country on a student visa." It adds that denying credit because someone is not a U.S. citizen "is not per se discrimination based on national origin."
National origin itself stays off limits: except where other law permits or requires it, a creditor "shall not consider race, color, religion, national origin, or sex."
In January 2026, the CFPB and the Justice Department withdrew a joint statement issued in October 2023 that had cautioned lenders about immigration-status policies. The Federal Register notice (91 FR 1138) says it "is withdrawn as of January 12, 2026." The CFPB's announcement says ECOA and Regulation B let creditors consider information needed to protect their rights, "including a borrower's immigration or citizenship status."
What do lenders' own pages say about green card holders and visa holders?
Here is what each lender's page said on October 19, 2026. Meeting these rules only lets you apply.
| Lender | Who can apply, per its page | Other requirements it lists |
|---|---|---|
| SoFi | "United States citizen, eligible permanent resident, or non-permanent resident alien (including DACA recipients and asylum seekers)" | Green card "must have a total validity (from issuance to expiry) of at least 2 years"; visa holders need documents showing status is current, "including a valid E-2, E-3, H-1B, J-1, L-1, or O-1 Visa or a Form I-797A or I-797B" |
| Upgrade | "Be a U.S. citizen, a permanent resident, or living in the U.S. on a valid visa" | Age 18 or older (higher in some states), verifiable bank account, valid email |
| Best Egg | "U.S. citizen currently living in the U.S., or a permanent resident currently living in the U.S." | Valid SSN, personal checking account with a routing number, physical address (no PO boxes) |
| Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub) | "Be a U.S. citizen or current resident" (its page does not define "resident") | At least 18 years old, a verifiable bank account; no applications from U.S. territories |
| Upstart | Its eligibility page does not state a citizenship rule | Verifiable SSN (it says it cannot support ITINs), U.S. residential address, U.S. bank account, a source of income |
Best Egg notes that approval also weighs "current income, debt, payment history, and verification of your credit report information."
If you have no SSN yet, see our guide to personal loans with an ITIN instead of an SSN.
Do conditional green cards or visa expiry dates change anything?
USCIS says a conditional permanent resident "receives a Green Card valid for two years." You must file to remove the conditions within the 90 days before the card expires, using Form I-751 for a marriage-based card or Form I-829 for an entrepreneur card.
SoFi's personal loan rule requires total card validity "of at least 2 years." Its student loan refinancing rules, on the same page, go further: a card that expires 2 years or less after its "Resident Since" date needs an I-751 receipt notice or an I-829 receipt "issued within the last 12 months." That rule covers refinancing, not personal loans. Still, if your card is conditional, ask the lender how its rule applies before you apply.
Best Egg treats expired documents strictly. It says expired forms of identity "cannot be used to verify permanent residency." For identity checks only, it says an official renewal notice "may be accepted" with a green card that expired during renewal processing.
For visa holders, SoFi asks for documents "showing immigration status is current," and Upgrade asks for a "valid visa." Neither page we checked publishes a minimum time remaining on the visa.
Why is a thin credit file often the bigger obstacle?
Your credit history does not move with you. Experian says: "Even if you had a good credit score in your home country, it usually won't carry over to the U.S." It adds that you typically need a U.S. credit report "showing one to six months of payment history" before a U.S. score can be calculated.
Income can be a second hurdle. Upstart lists "Income earned in a foreign currency" among the income it does not count. SoFi says foreign income "must be converted to U.S. dollars and may not be eligible in every case," and asks for your most recent pay stub plus two years of personal tax returns that include Form 1116.
So a new arrival with a green card and a strong salary abroad can still be declined. Our guide to loans with no credit history covers this situation in depth.
How can you start a U.S. credit file?
The CFPB says that with certain loans and cards, "the payments you make are reported to the three nationwide credit reporting companies, and they create a credit report for you." The products it lists:
- Secured credit card. "You put in an amount of cash, for example $500. Then, you can spend up to that amount on your credit card."
- Credit builder loan. The money is held for you as savings while you make small payments, "usually over six to 24 months," and you receive it at the end. Experian says these loans "usually range from $300 to $1,000." Our explainer on how credit builder loans work covers costs and who they help.
- Retail or store credit card. These often come with a relatively low credit limit.
Experian also suggests becoming an authorized user on a relative's or friend's card.
Some payments do not help. The CFPB says debit cards, prepaid cards and payday loans typically are not reported to the nationwide credit reporting companies. A payday loan "does not help your credit history" even if you pay on time.
If someone with established U.S. credit is willing to apply with you, read our guide to borrowing with a cosigner first. They take on the debt if you do not pay.
What documents should you have ready?
Based on the lender pages we checked, gather these before you apply:
- Your green card. Best Egg accepts it for identity and residency checks. SoFi asks for an image or scan.
- Your Social Security number. Best Egg and Upstart require one.
- A government-issued photo ID. Upgrade lists a driver's license or passport as examples, and Happen Bank says you may need to provide one. Upstart asks for a U.S. federal or state government-issued photo ID (driver's license, passport or state ID).
- Proof of income. Upgrade lists a pay stub, W-2, tax return, employer contact details and direct deposit information. Upstart asks W-2 employees for a pay stub from the last 30 days, or "an official job offer letter if newly employed." If you just started work here, see getting a personal loan with a new job.
- Proof of address. Upstart may ask for a utility bill.
- A bank account. Upgrade, Best Egg, Upstart and Happen Bank all require one. Upstart specifies an account at a U.S. financial institution, and Best Egg a checking account with a routing number.
Check your rate first where the lender allows it. Upstart says its rate check is a soft inquiry that "does not affect your credit score," while accepting an offer triggers a hard inquiry. Our guide to soft and hard credit inquiries explains the difference.
Loans Generator may be paid when you click or submit a request through this link. This does not change what we report.
How do you spot an advance-fee loan scam?
The FTC says advance-fee loan scams "target people who have bad credit or trouble getting a loan for other reasons." Its warning signs include:
- A loan promised regardless of credit. Legitimate lenders check your credit report and confirm your application "before giving you a firm offer of credit."
- A fee to release the money. "Any up-front fee that the lender wants to collect before granting the loan is a cue to walk away," especially one described as insurance, processing or paperwork.
- Unrequested calls offering loans. The FTC says it is illegal for telemarketers to promise you a loan and ask you to pay for it up front.
Real lenders can charge an application or appraisal fee, the FTC notes, but none will tell you a fee secures the loan. Check that a lender is registered in your state, and report scams at ReportFraud.ftc.gov.
Common questions
Can I get a personal loan with a green card?
Yes, at lenders that accept permanent residents. SoFi, Upgrade and Best Egg list them as eligible. You still need to meet each lender's credit and income standards.
Can I get a personal loan on a work visa?
At some lenders. SoFi names E-2, E-3, H-1B, J-1, L-1 and O-1 visas among acceptable documents, and Upgrade accepts applicants "living in the U.S. on a valid visa." Best Egg lists only citizens and permanent residents.
Do I need a Social Security number?
At Best Egg and Upstart, yes. If you have an ITIN but no SSN, the ITIN guide linked above covers lenders that publish ITIN programs.
Does my credit history from my home country count?
Usually not. Experian says a score from your home country usually won't carry over, and that a U.S. score typically needs one to six months of U.S. payment history.
What if my green card is conditional or about to expire?
Ask the lender before you apply. SoFi sets a minimum card validity of 2 years for personal loans, and Best Egg says expired documents cannot verify permanent residency.
Sources
- eCFR, "12 CFR 1002.6, Rules concerning evaluation of applications," accessed October 19, 2026.
- eCFR, "Supplement I to Part 1002, Official Interpretations," accessed October 19, 2026.
- Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, "Consumer Financial Protection Bureau and the Department of Justice Withdraw Joint Statement on Fair Lending and Credit Opportunities for Noncitizen Borrowers," accessed October 19, 2026.
- Federal Register, "Withdrawal of Joint Statement on the Equal Credit Opportunity Act and Noncitizen Borrowers," 91 FR 1138, January 12, 2026, accessed October 19, 2026.
- SoFi, "Eligibility Criteria," accessed October 19, 2026.
- SoFi, "What income and income documents should I include on my loan application?," accessed October 19, 2026.
- Upgrade, "Personal Loans," accessed October 19, 2026.
- Best Egg, "What are the requirements to apply for a loan?," accessed October 19, 2026.
- Best Egg, "What documentation do you accept to verify my identity and residency?," accessed October 19, 2026.
- Happen Bank, "Happen Bank, formerly LendingClub" (homepage), accessed October 19, 2026.
- Happen Bank, "How do I qualify for a personal loan?," accessed October 19, 2026.
- Happen Bank, "What documents may I be asked to submit?," accessed October 19, 2026.
- Upstart, "Loan eligibility: how to determine if you qualify," accessed October 19, 2026.
- Upstart, "Documents needed to apply for a loan," accessed October 19, 2026.
- Upstart, "What is (and isn't) considered income for loan applications?," accessed October 19, 2026.
- U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services, "Conditional Permanent Residence," accessed October 19, 2026.
- Experian, "Credit Building for Immigrants: A Step-by-Step Guide," accessed October 19, 2026.
- Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, "What are some ways to start or rebuild a good credit history?," accessed October 19, 2026.
- Federal Trade Commission, "What To Know About Advance-Fee Loans," accessed October 19, 2026.
- Federal Register, “Withdrawal of Joint Statement on the Equal Credit Opportunity Act and Noncitizen Borrowers (91 FR 1138)”
- Upstart, “What is (and isn't) considered income for loan applications?”
Loans Generator is not a loan provider or broker. We connect users with lending partners who may offer loans. Submitting a connection request on our site does not count as a loan application. To receive an actual loan offer, you must apply directly with a lender. We cannot guarantee loan approval or the terms shown on our website. Always review the loan agreement carefully before proceeding. Availability, rates, and terms vary by lender and by state. Lender criteria cited on this page were checked on October 19, 2026 and change without notice. This page is general information, not legal, immigration or financial advice.